Tuesday, 3 July 2018

NMA commends AKSG on rehabilitation of hospitals; demand Payment Of 14 months Arrears

The Nigerian Medical Association (NMA), Akwa Ibom State Branch has commended His Excellency, Governor Udom Emmanuel on the ongoing rehabilitation, reconstruction and upgrading of secondary healthcare facilities across the three senatorial districts of the state.

This was stated in a communiqué signed by the Chairman and Secretary of the Association, Dr Nsikak Nyoyoko and Dr Ema Inyang respectively after its 31st Annual General Meeting (AGM). 

In the communique, the NMA resolved that quality healthcare delivery was an indicator for good governance at all levels of government and urged the government to continue with the upgrade of secondary healthcare facilities.

 The NMA also urged the Akwa Ibom State Government to speed up efforts aimed at building world class trauma centres in all three senatorial districts of the state and to train more doctors on specialized emergency care services.

Other appeals to Government at the AGM included  the implementation of the law establishing the Akwa Ibom State Primary Healthcare Development Agency and a further appeal to Government to sign into law the State Health Insurance (Universal Health Coverage) and other health-related bills. These , the NMA noted will enhance qualitative health care delivery to the masses in all nooks and crannies of the state while also making health care affordable and mostly at no cost.

The NMA called on the Government to prioritize the immediate payment of the fourteen (14) months salary arrears and the six (6) months CONMESS arrears owed its members working with the Akwa Ibom State Government.

Also, authorities in parastatals owing doctors CONMESS arrears in the University Teaching Service and the Military/Paramilitary service were urged by the NMA to  do so as soon as possible to enhance the proficiency of doctors in their employ. 

It would be recalled that as part of the AGM, the following members of the association were elected into the State Officers Committee (SOC) of the association for the year 2018-2020:

Dr. Nsikak Paul Nyoyoko           - Chairman
Dr. Ekaete Mbatt          - Vice Chairman
Dr. Ema Inyang - Secretary
Dr. Aniekpeno Eyo          - Assistant Secretary
Dr. Ikanke Mathias          - Treasurer
Dr. Ekem Emmanuel John          - Public Relations Officer 
Other officers of the State Officers Committee (SOC) include: 
Dr. Eyo Ekpe, Editor, Ibom Medical Journal
Dr. Aniekeme Uwah, JP, Immediate Past Chairman (IPC) and Ex-officio 1

No comments:

Post a Comment